Community Gardens in Belfast

Its been a long time since I posted anything here but I recently came across this set of images which I produced during my time living in Belfast around 2008/9. At the time I was interested in community gardens and having heard that there were many so called victory gardens in the city during World War 2 and after, I visited the Belfast Central Library in search of old city maps. After taking some photos of the maps I overlaid the images on top of Google Maps and proceeded to visit the locations to see what is there today and how things have changed. Some of the gardens such as those on the Ardoyne road still exist while others have long since been paved over or built upon. However there are a few that are simply empty fields and I’m curious whether those same communities would have an interest in reclaiming such spaces. A project worth revisiting perhaps?

CSCF2248

CSCF2249

CSCF2250

CSCF2257

CSCF2258

CSCF2260

CSCF2262

